About the Journal

In 1946, due to the efforts of the leadership of "The Polytechnic Institute of Iaşi", supported by the well-known scientific competence, enthusiasm and devotion of the distinguished professor Dimitrie I. Mangeron, an independent scientific publication was founded. The new publication was named "The Bulletin of the Polytechnic Institute of Iaşi", and, since 1946, it has been known under the same name at national and international level. "The Bulletin of the Polytechnic Institute of Iaşi" met the need to make known the results of the research carried out by the teaching staff and to facilitate exchange of scientific information with other scientific research teams. Since the very beginning, this publication opened its doors to researchers from Romania and abroad.


In the early years of its publication, "The Bulletin of the Polytechnic Institute of Iaşi" published scientific articles, covering all the fields from Mathematics to Social Sciences. At the beginning, "The Bulletin of the Polytechnic Institute of Iaşi" published articles both in Romanian and in other languages, but in order to facilitate the wider dissemination of research results as well as facilitation of international research cooperation, it was decided that articles should be published only in international languages and the summaries in Romanian.

In 1969, in order to ease the exchange of specialized reviews from abroad, "The Bulletin of the Polytechnic Institute of Iaşi" was divided in subjects according to specific areas. In 1971, the section - Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, was set up as a separate one.

Three Nobel Prize laureates published papers in several editions of the Bulletin. Louis de Broglie, who won the Nobel Prize in 1929 for the discovery of the wave nature of electrons, published four different scientific articles in 1963, 1964, 1966 and 1968. Italian chemist Giulio Natta, who won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry alongside Karl Ziegler in 1963 for their discoveries in the field of the chemistry and technology of high polymers, published two articles in 1967. Finally, American physicist John Hasbrouck van Vleck, who won the Nobel Prize in 1977 alongside Phillip Warren Anderson and Sir Nevill Francis Mott for their fundamental theoretical investigations of the electronic structure of magnetic and disordered systems, published one article in 1970.